Three majors initiated into Phi Beta Kappa

On March 28, 2024, three Physics majors were inducted into the Delta of Maine chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest and most prestigious honor society in the United States. According to their website, Phi Beta Kappa has “championed education in the arts and sciences, fostered freedom of thought, and recognized academic excellence” since 1776. Invitation is given to students based on academic excellence and “good moral character.”

The three students who were initaited were Jenna Lawson, Avery Richard, and Andrii Obertas. Jenna and Avery are pictured here with Associate Professor MacKenzie Stetzer, who is also a Phi Beta Kappa member and the Secretary-Treasurer of the UMaine chapter.

Associate Professor MacKenzie Stetzer (L) with 2024 Phi Beta Kappa initiates Avery Richard (M) and Jenna Lawson (R).

Congratulations to all three students on this academic recognition!